Seidenberg News Byte
September 22, 2010
News Byte #32

Three outstanding Pace students interested in pursuing cybersecurity related careers are the recipients of National Science Foundation (NSF) funded scholarships under NSF’s Scholarship for Service Program.  They are Matthew Kendris (Seidenberg ’12, NYC), majoring in information technology and minoring in information assurance; Marcus Hernandez (Seidenberg ’12, PLV), also majoring in information technology and minoring in information assurance; and Michael D’Angelo (Dyson ’12, NYC), who is pursuing a criminal justice major while minoring in both information systems and information assurance.

These highly coveted scholarships, which were awarded for the first time this academic year, were obtained through a team effort that included Professor Li-Chiou Chen as principal investigator, Andreea Cotoranu, associate director of assessment, Professor Chienting Lin (Seidenberg), and Professor Picheng Lee (Lubin).  Seidenberg is one of only 33 schools nationwide participating in this program.  The first installment of an $885,197 grant came through in July and recruitment began immediately thereafter.

The Scholarship for Service Program provides recipients with full tuition, money for books and fees, and a stipend to cover partial living expenses for a period of two years.  In addition, SFS students have the opportunity to work as interns in governmental agencies over the summer between their first and second year.  In return, they are required, upon graduation, to work for the federal government in a position that enables them to apply their knowledge of information assurance to benefit the country’s security.  Confident that Pace graduates have a great deal to contribute, Dr. Chen said:  “Pace is producing graduates with well-rounded backgrounds who are focused on information assurance, are able to think for themselves, and are prepared to work in the field.”

The full grant of $885,197 will support a total of nine students over four years.  Three additional scholars will be selected next year and again the following year.  Eligibility requirements include junior standing, a minimum QPA of 3.0, and interest in studying computer security in an interdisciplinary context.  As Andreea Cotoranu, coordinator of the program, points out:  “A unique aspect of this scholarship is that they are also open to students who may not be interested in only computing.  Students in the program are required to take courses in information assurance and in a second discipline, such as accounting or criminal justice.”

This program is similar to the Department of Defense’s Information Assurance Scholarship Program (IASP) that the Seidenberg School has been participating in since 2006.  To-date, four Pace students have been awarded IASP scholarships including Max Wagner (Seidenberg ’12, PLV), majoring in computer science and minoring in information assurance, who joined the program this fall.

To learn more about the NSF Scholarship for Service Program, visit and

Deadline for 2011-2013 awards:  March 31, 2011.

To determine eligibility, contact Andreea Cotoranu at